What Counts as a Zapier Task (and What Is Free)
A Zapier task is one successful action step, so a five-step Zap with a trigger, a filter and a Formatter step bills 2 tasks per run, not 5. Two worked examples price that difference at $348.12 and $960 a year against Zapier's own ladder.
A Zapier task is one successful action step — not one step in your Zap, and not one Zap run. Triggers are free. Filter and Paths steps are free. Any step that errors, halts, or never runs because a filter stopped it is free. So are all steps from a set of Zapier's own apps: Formatter, Delay, Looping, Sub-Zap, Digest, Zapier Manager and Storage, plus everything in Zapier Tables and Zapier Forms. That is why a Zap with a trigger, a filter, a Formatter step and two actions bills 2 tasks per run, not 5 — and why the most expensive mistake in Zapier budgeting is counting the boxes on your screen.
Zapier's definition, verbatim: "A task is any successful action that runs in Zapier. Only successful actions count toward your task usage." Source: How is task usage measured in Zapier?, read 8 September 2026.
The complete list of what bills and what doesn't
Most of this comes from that one help page; check the rows that matter to your build against it before you budget on them. The free column is longer than most people expect, and it is the one that decides your plan.
| Counts as a task | Does not count |
|---|---|
| All successful action steps | All trigger steps |
| Any successful step inside an error handler path | Any Filter or Paths step |
| Previously successful steps that run again when you replay an entire Zap run | Action steps that error or halt |
| In a sub-Zap: every action step inside the sub-Zap | All steps that do not run, because of a previous filter or path condition, or because the Zap errored |
| The "Call a Sub-Zap" action step | In a sub-Zap, the "Start a Sub-Zap" trigger |
| The "Return From a Sub-Zap" action step | Steps for Zapier Tables and Zapier Forms |
| Steps for these apps: Formatter, Delay, Looping, Sub-Zap app, Digest, Zapier Manager, Storage |
Two rows deserve a warning. The free-apps list names the "Sub-Zap app", while the counting list names the "Call a Sub-Zap" and "Return From a Sub-Zap" steps as chargeable. Both sit on the same page; the specific rule is the one to budget against, so assume the call and return steps each cost a task. And error handling is not a discount: a failed step is free, but a successful step inside the error handler you built to catch it bills like any other action.
Search actions turn on a setting you picked when you built the step. Zapier's page: with "Yes (proceed if nothing found)", the search uses 1 task; with "No", it uses no tasks. A search that finds its record is a successful action and bills 1 task either way. The setting only decides the empty result: proceed and pay, or halt free.
Worked example 1: a lead capture Zap
A form submission arrives, a filter drops the junk, Formatter splits the name, the contact goes into the CRM, Slack gets a notification.
| Step | Type | Tasks |
|---|---|---|
| 1. New form submission | Trigger | 0 |
| 2. Continue only if budget field is filled | Filter | 0 |
| 3. Split full name into first and last | Formatter | 0 |
| 4. Create or update contact in CRM | Action | 1 |
| 5. Send channel message in Slack | Action | 1 |
| Per run that passes the filter | 2 |
Say 400 submissions a month and a filter that passes 60 percent: 400 x 0.60 = 240 runs continue, and 240 x 2 = 480 tasks a month. The 160 stopped runs cost nothing.
Budget the naive way — five steps, 400 submissions — and you get 400 x 5 = 2,000 tasks, which lands on the 2,000-task plan at $49 a month billed yearly, or $49 x 12 = $588 a year. The real 480 fits the 750-task plan at $19.99 a month billed yearly, $19.99 x 12 = $239.88 a year. The gap is $49 - $19.99 = $29.01 a month, $348.12 a year, for a Zap that never changed. Prices from zapier.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026, in USD.
Worked example 2: an order Zap with Paths
Branching is where estimates fall apart. This Zap watches for paid orders, formats the total, looks up the customer, then splits: high-value orders join a VIP list and get announced in Slack, the rest go to the standard list.
| Step | Type | Tasks |
|---|---|---|
| 1. New paid order | Trigger | 0 |
| 2. Format order total as currency | Formatter | 0 |
| 3. Find customer in CRM (proceed if nothing found) | Search action | 1 |
| 4. Paths: order total above or below $250 | Paths | 0 |
| Path A: add to VIP list, then post to Slack | 2 actions | 2 |
| Path B: add to standard list | 1 action | 1 |
| Per Path A run / per Path B run | 3 / 2 |
At 900 orders a month with 20 percent on Path A: 900 x 0.20 = 180 and 900 x 0.80 = 720. Tasks: (180 x 3) + (720 x 2) = 540 + 1,440 = 1,980 a month. That fits the 2,000-task plan at $49 a month billed yearly, $588 a year — with 20 tasks of headroom, so one busy month or one new action step pushes you over.
Count boxes instead and a Path A run has six steps, so 900 x 6 = 5,400 tasks. That is past the 2,000-task tier, and the next tier with a price verified for this article is 10,000 tasks at $129 a month billed yearly, $129 x 12 = $1,548 a year. Difference: $129 - $49 = $80 a month, $80 x 12 = $960 a year. Zapier's slider has stops between the tiers listed below; those are the ones read on 4 September 2026.
The four things that make the bill bigger than you planned
Replaying a run rebills the steps that already worked. Take a three-action Zap where the third action fails on 150 runs because an API key expired. Those runs each billed 2 tasks (two successes, one free error): 150 x 2 = 300. You fix the key and replay all 150 entire runs, which bill 3 tasks each: 150 x 3 = 450. Total 750 tasks for 150 outcomes — 750 / 150 = 5 tasks per outcome, not the 3 you budgeted. The rule names replaying an entire run: successful steps that execute a second time are billed a second time.
Sub-Zaps bill the wrapper as well as the contents. A parent Zap that calls a sub-Zap containing three actions, then does one more action itself, bills: Call a Sub-Zap (1) + three actions inside (3) + Return From a Sub-Zap (1) + the final parent action (1) = 6 tasks. Both triggers are free. The same four actions built inline bill 4. At 2,000 runs a month: 2,000 x 6 = 12,000 versus 2,000 x 4 = 8,000. Inline fits the 10,000-task tier at $129 a month billed yearly ($1,548 a year). The sub-Zap version does not: 12,000 passes 10,000, and the next slider stop is 20,000, for which no price was captured on 4 September 2026. So the exact increase is not stated here. What is stated is the ratio: the wrapper adds 4,000 tasks a month, 50% on top of the 8,000 the same four actions cost inline, and it pushes you over a tier boundary you would otherwise have sat inside.
Zapier Lead Router bills 5 tasks per lead routed. Route 600 leads a month and routing alone is 600 x 5 = 3,000 tasks — before a single action in the Zap around it, and already half again the 2,000-task plan.
Zapier MCP bills 2 tasks per tool call. An assistant making 40 tool calls a day across a 30-day month is 40 x 30 = 1,200 calls, or 1,200 x 2 = 2,400 tasks — the least predictable line in the model, since tool calls are easy to trigger and hard to count afterward.
Dated change worth knowing if you compare months. Zapier's help page carries a dated note about Lead Router reporting, effective 21 July 2026. If you compare a date range that spans that day, a Zap using Lead Router can show a sudden jump. Read the note on the page before you draw a conclusion from it: a jump across that date is a reporting change, not a usage change. You were always paying for it.
Products that don't bill at one task per action
| Product | Task rate |
|---|---|
| AI by Zapier | Depends on the model tier you select |
| Code by Zapier | 1 task per run with standard runtime; more tasks if you extend the runtime |
| Zapier Lead Router | 5 tasks per lead routed |
| Zapier MCP | 2 tasks per tool call |
Two of those rows are not numbers, and this article will not invent numbers for them. Zapier publishes no per-tier figure for AI by Zapier, and does not say how many extra tasks an extended Code runtime costs. If your workload leans on either, the only reliable figure is your own Task Usage page. One more line, quoted because people assume the opposite: "Zapier Agents usage does not count as tasks. Agents use a separate activity quota." The size of that quota is not stated there.
The price ladder, in USD
Read from zapier.com/pricing on 4 September 2026. Free is 100 tasks a month. Above Team sits Enterprise, quoted by sales.
| Tasks/month | Professional, yearly | Team, yearly | Professional, monthly | Team, monthly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 (Free) | $0 | — | $0 | — |
| 750 | $19.99 | — | $29.99 | — |
| 2,000 | $49 | $69 | $73.50 | $103.50 |
| 10,000 | $129 | $169 | $193.50 | $253.50 |
| 50,000 | $289 | $399 | $433.50 | $598.50 |
| 100,000 | $489 | $599 | $733.50 | $898.50 |
| 1,000,000 | $2,199 | $2,499 | $3,299 | $3,749 |
| 2,000,000 | $3,389 | $3,999 | $5,099 | $5,999 |
The monthly column is 1.5 times the yearly one at almost every tier — $49 x 1.5 = $73.50, $289 x 1.5 = $433.50 — which is the arithmetic behind the advertised "Save 33%", since 1 / 1.5 = 0.667. One published row does not fit: Professional at 2,000,000 tasks is $3,389 yearly against $5,099 monthly, where 1.5x would be $5,083.50. Use the 1.5x relationship as a rough test of list pricing, not as a rule. Note that 100 free tasks is 50 runs of the two-task Zap above — Free is a place to learn the tool, not to run a business on.
How to estimate your month before you buy
Five lines of arithmetic per Zap. First, cross out every free step: the trigger, every Filter, every Paths step, and every step belonging to Formatter, Delay, Looping, Sub-Zap, Digest, Zapier Manager, Storage, Zapier Tables or Zapier Forms. Second, count what is left, separately for each path — a branching Zap costs a different amount on each branch. Third, estimate how many runs reach each branch per month: trigger volume times filter pass rate times each path's share. Fourth, multiply and add across branches and Zaps.
Fifth, add the specials: 5 tasks per lead Lead Router routes, 2 per MCP tool call, 1 per Code by Zapier run at standard runtime. Then add a margin for replays. No average replay rate is published, so this article will not supply one — pull your own Zap History for the last full month, count the replays, and price each at the full per-run cost, not the cost of the failed step alone.
Where to check what you actually used
Zapier names two places on its own help page: the Task Usage page and Zap History. Task Usage tells you how much of the plan you have consumed; Zap History tells you which Zap consumed it, the one you need when the number surprises you. Compare your estimate against a full month of Task Usage. If they are far apart, the gap is almost always one of four things: a search step set to proceed on empty results, replays after a broken integration, a sub-Zap paying two tasks of overhead per run, or Lead Router at 5 per lead. What happens when you hit your limit, and how overages behave, is not on the help page read for this article, so it is not stated here — check it on your own plan first.